Learn Vedic Astrology- Class-1


 This section will introduce you to the most basic concepts and elements in Vedic Astrology. Astronomical basis will explain the difference between the zodiac used in Vedic Astrology and in Western Astrology. The chart gives a short overview of the elements in the chart as introduction to explain the way the chart is drawn. Both the North Indian and South Indian styles are covered. The Grahas (planets) discusses the nature and significations in detail. The Rashis (signs) describes the 12 signs. The Nakshatras describes the nature and use of the 27 lunar constellations. The Bhavas (houses) explains how the significations of the 12 houses are derived, and how to use them. Lordships explains how the Rashis are ruled by the Grahas, and how this forms the basis of the house lordships. The Lagna covers the use of the Ascendant, the rising sign in the chart. Conjunctions and aspects explains about the 2 most important ways
Tutorial – Astronomical basis of Vedic Astrology :-

Astronomical basis of Vedic Astrology The Zodiac is a belt of heavens extending on both sides of the ecliptic. It encircles the space through which the planets travel in their orbits. Vedic Astrology employs sidereal zodiac, which is different from the tropical zodiac used in Western Astrology. While the tropical (Western) Astrology uses the vernal equinox (the Sun's position at the beginning of spring) as the starting point for the measurements along the zodiac, the sidereal (Vedic) Astrology uses fixed stars to identify different segments along the zodiac. The starting points of the sidereal and tropical zodiacs coincide once every 25,800 years. After that the starting points separate from each other by an approximate 1 degree of an arc per each 72 years. The difference between the longitude of the starting points of the sidereal and tropical zodiacs at any given time is called Ayanamsha. Due to the existing controversy about the year in which the two starting points coincided last, there are several ayanamshas used by different schools of Vedic astrologers. Some of them are Lahiri, Krishnamurti, Raman, and Fagan ayanamshas. Lahiri is the most widely used Ayanamsha which is based on the last coincidence point taking place in the year 285 A.D. Lahiri Ayanamsha for the year of your birth is -23:35:24 degrees. If you want to convert your sidereal (Vedic) planetary positions into tropical (Western), you can do so by adding this ayanamsha to the degrees of the planets in your Vedic chart. To arrive at the sidereal positions by converting the tropical ones, you will need to subtract the ayanamsha from the tropical positions. For example, your Sun is placed in 26:18 degrees of the constellation of Capricorn in your Vedic chart. When you add the ayanamsha for the year of your birth, which is -23:35:24 degrees, you will derive the tropical (Western Astrology) horoscope position of your Sun which happens to be placed in the sign of Aquarius. Therefore, your Jyotish (sidereal) Sun sign is Capricorn and your Western (tropical) Sun sign is Aquarius.

Tutorial – The North Indian Style Chart :-

The North Indian style chart Let us take a look at your actual horoscope kundali (chart): Right now you are looking at your Jyotish chart formatted in the North Indian chart style. As you see, there are 12 individual sections in the horoscope. These sections are the bhavas (houses), and each house is fully occupied by one of the signs. The signs are marked within the bhavas (houses) with numerals. The numbering system used for marking the signs reflects the natural order of the signs (i.e. 1 – for Aries, 2 – for Taurus, 3 – for Gemini, 4 – for Cancer and so on). The house counting sequence follows a counterclockwise direction, and so does the sign sequence within the chart. The box at the center top of the chart is called the First house. The sign occupying the first house is called the Ascendant. Your Ascendant is the sign which was rising at the eastern horizon at the time of your birth. The sign is indicated by its corresponding number. In your chart, the first house is marked with number 7, which indicates the sign of Libra. Therefore, your Ascendant is Libra. The box on the left of the first house is called the second house. The number 2 in that house represents the sign of Taurus. Next to it is the third house, then the fourth, and so on up to the twelfth house. The sequential order of the houses is FIXED in the North India chart format. The top center box is always the first house and the bottom center one is always the seventh. When using the North Indian style chart you should also remember that the numbers within the houses represent the sign numbers, not the numbers of the houses. For your convenience, here is a complete verview: Each of the grahas (planets) is placed in one of the bhavas (houses). The planets are marked in the chart with their abbreviated names. Now we see from the picture of your chart, which houses your planets occupy. The Sun, indicated by the letters Su, is in house 4. The Moon (Mo) is in house 6. Mars (Ma) is in house 5. Mercury (Me) is in house 5. Jupiter (Ju) is in house 12. Venus (Ve) is in house 4. Saturn (Sa) is in house 12. Rahu (Ra) is in house 10. Ketu (Ke) is in house 4. Once again, you should not confuse the house numbers with the numbers that you see in your chart. The numbers in the houses represent the signs that occupy those houses. The houses must be counted in a counterclockwise direction from the 1st house, which is the top center house. The houses should be counted inclusively of the house you are counting from. For example the 3rd house is located three houses away from the first one, not two, and 11th house is 5 houses away from the 7th, not four. Even though within this tutorial we will always reference your chart in the North Indian format, you should learn the difference between North and South Indian chart styles. Let's take a look at your natal chart drawn in the South Indian format.
The Planets – Names and nature of the Grahas

The nine Grahas (planets) are called Surya (the Sun), Chandra (the Moon), Mangal (Mars), Budha (Mercury), Guru (Jupiter), Shukra (Venus), Shani (Saturn), Rahu (Northern lunar node), and Ketu (Southern lunar node). These names are listed in Sanskrit, to encourage you to become familiar with their original names. The Sanskrit names/sounds are said to correspond more accurately to the actual properties of the Grahas. For example, when you consistently use the term "Shukra" your brain will be able to get to the true significance better than when you use "Venus". Most texts on Jyotish use the word "planets" instead of Grahas. Since the Sun, the Moon, Rahu, and Ketu are technically not planets, it is more correct to call them Grahas. The Grahas are divided into two groups, according to their general auspicious or inauspicious effects. The Sanskrit terms used to label these two groups are "Saumya" (benefic) and "Krura" (malefic). Surya (the Sun), Shani (Saturn), Mangal (Mars), waning Chandra (the Moon), Rahu, and Ketu are all classified as malefics. The waxing Chandra (the Moon), Budha (Mercury), Guru (Jupiter) and Shukra (Venus) are classified as benefics. When Mercury is in the same sign as another malefic, it is considered to be a malefic also. Most Grahas are fixed in nature. Only Chandra (Moon) and Budha (Mercury) can be affected by their specific placement in the chart. The Moon is benefic when bright. In your chart, the Moon is waxing, and 50:08:41 degrees from the Sun. It is therefore a benefic. Mercury is conjunct malefics and therefore is considered malefic.

Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed